兽医顾问

Vets Central集合了世界级的美国及欧洲注册兽医,以及来自美国、香港和以色列的各个领域的资深执业者,他们已经准备好全天侯为世界各地的兽医提供他们的专业服务,重心会先放在大中华地区、蒙古、亚洲和东欧。按进兽医们的照片可观看他们的详细履历。他们的资历、概略背景、经验、工作时间和服务收费如下: 

行为科

Dr. Stefanie Schwartz

DVM, MSc, Dipl. ACVB

headshot of Dr. Stefanie Schwartz

Bio of Dr. Schwartz

Schwartz医生是来自加州的注册兽医行为治疗师,她在加州、纽约州和麻萨诸塞州都有执照。她于蒙特娄大学获得了动物医学学士学位和行为学(动物行为学)理学硕士学位,在麦基尔大学取得生物心理学、比较心理学和神经心理学理学士学位。 Schwartz医生曾任职于塔夫茨大学兽医学院临床学系(1990-2006),2009年开始在弗吉尼亚-马里兰兽医医药区域学院临床学系工作。她擅长诊断和治疗宠物猫狗的行为问题,处理攻击性行为、焦虑、破坏性行为、抑郁和到处便溺的问题。 Schwartz医生是一位作家、讲师、专家证人以及电视和电台节目的常客。

心脏病科

Dr. Dan Ohad

DVM, PhD., DACVS & DECVS

headshot of Dr. Dan Ohad

Bio of Dr. Ohad

Ohad医生在The Koret School of Veterinary Medicine取得动物医学学士学位和博士学位。是一位受美国及欧洲兽医内科医学院╴心脏病专科认证的专科医师,也是一位临床专家,他致力于了解、教学和研究哺乳动物的患病心脏的症状和治疗方法。他曾是宾夕法尼亚大学临床心脏病学院的高级专科住院实习医生(1996-1998)和研究员(1998-1999),也在礼来公司研发部担任过研究人员(2000-2003),及后在2004年成为The Koret School of Veterinary Medicine的兽医教学医院心脏病科的临床高级讲师。他是多个大学委员会的主席,2010年加入了Journal of Veterinary Cardiology的审核委员会,也为其他专科期刊审核了大量的科学初稿和摘要。他发表过许多教科书里的文章、同行评议期刊,也在多个国际科学会议中担任讲师。 Ohad医生获得过多个专业及教学奖项及奖金。

牙科

Dr. Yoav Bar-Am

DVM, DAVDC, DEVDC

headshot of Dr. Yoav Bar-Am

Bio of Dr. Bar-Am

Yoav Bar-Am 是以色列人。Bar-Am醫生畢業於意大利都靈大學(??)的獸醫學院。畢業後,他回到以色列,並在海法的一所小型動物醫院執業了11年。他也是市內動物收容中心的首席獸醫。Bar-Am醫生左以色列耶路撒冷希伯來大學的Koret School of Veterinary Medicine 取得研究生學位。他完成了受European College of Veterinary Surgeons認可的小型動物外科住院實習。 完成住院實習期後,Nar-Am醫生繼續在該院擔任外科醫生,亦開辦了小型動物牙科及口腔外科部。他在加利福尼亞大學戴維斯分校的牙科及口腔外科部完成了3年嚴格的住院實習,其後左該校任職了一年臨床講師。後來他接受了科羅拉多州立大學牙科及口腔外科部的助理教授一職,亦在該校的獸醫教學醫院和獸醫醫學及生物醫學學院創辦了牙科及口腔外科的臨床及學術課程。他回到以色列後重任Koret Veterinary Teaching Hospital的牙科及口腔外科部主任一職。Bar-Am醫生致力教育獸醫學生,又與全科和轉介醫生合作,以推廣獸醫牙科及口腔外科。

马科兽医

Dr. Charles Liskey

DVM

headshot of Dr. Charlie Liskey

Bio of Dr. Liskey

Liskey医生在戴维斯加利福尼亚大学取得学士学位和动物医学学士学位。他在加拿大萨斯喀彻温大学完成了他的大型动物外科实习,在戴维斯加利福尼亚大学完成了马科手术实习。 1986年他在加州成为马科兽医,自此成为了全职的马科全科医生。他在蒙古也是一名马科顾问。

Dr. David W. Ramey

DVM

headshot of Dr. David Ramey

Bio of Dr. Ramey

Ramey医生于1983年在科罗拉多州立大学取得动物医学学士学位,他曾是爱荷华州立大学的马科内外科实习生,后来成为一名全职马科全科医生,他照顾的马中约六成为比赛和表演马匹(狩猎用马、FEI跳跃马、绕桶赛马、耐力赛马、FEI盛装舞步马和鞍座马)。他出版了十三本关于马类健康的书、五个章节,在专业期刊中发表过超过七十份论文,亦是一些专业期刊的评论家,包括Equine Veterinary Journal、Journal of Equine Veterinary Science 和Australian Veterinary Journal。 Ramey医生在美国、加拿大和英国的大学、会议和持续进修研讨会中都有发表和教授过关于马匹的题目。

內科

Dr. Ran Nivy

DVM, Diplomate ECVIM (Internal medicine)

headshot of Dr. Ran Nivy

Bio of Dr. Nivy

Nivy医生毕业于耶路撒冷希伯来大学的The Koret School of Veterinary Medicine。他现时是该大学讲师,也是私人兽医诊所的网上顾问,负责处理呼吸系统疾病、出血及血栓疾病和呼吸系统疾病导致的电解质不平衡、免疫缺陷及免疫性疾病和用于小型动物的抗生素和类固醇。他获奖无数,亦在兽医刊物中出版过许多文章。

Dr. Gilad Segev

DVM, Diplomate ECVIM (Internal Medicine)

headshot of Dr. Gilad Segev

Bio of Dr. Segev

Segev医生是The Koret School of Veterinary Medicine小型动物内科系的兽医学副教授和系主任,亦是国际肾脏权益组织的透析服务主任和董事会成员。他曾是戴维斯加利福尼亚大学兽医学院的肾脏学和血液透析系的研究员(2005-2007)。

Dr. David Coyle

BVSc (Hons) MACVSc (Small Animal Medicine)

headshot of Dr. David Coyle

Bio of Dr. Coyle

Coyle医生是Pets Central的内科主任,一般负责监察转介个案和对有严重或长期病患的猫狗作再次鉴定。他毕业于澳洲的昆士兰大学,是澳洲兽医科学家协会猫狗医学系的会员。他每年进行超过500次腹部超音波检查和200次心脏超音波检查,定期进行微创超音波诊断,通过诊断外科程序每年拯救过百只宠物。他在中国和香港教授关于内科的课题超过十五年,亦有指导大学本科生和研究生。

行销管理

Peter Weinstein医生

兽医学士,工商管理硕士

headshot of Dr. Peter Weinstein

Bio of Dr. Weinstein

Weinstein医生是南加州兽医学会的执行董事。他于康乃尔大学取得学士学位,并于伊利诺伊大学取得动物医学学士学位。执业期间他明白到商业触觉对他事业发展非常重要,因此到雷德兰兹大学进修并取得其工商管理硕士学位。Weinstein医生曾是南加州兽医学会和加州兽医学会的会长,亦是国立顾问协会VetPartners的前会长。另外,他也是Veterinary Pet Insurance的医疗部主任,负责监察索赔部门。Weinstein医生的公司PAW Consulting亦有提供企业管理咨询。他是Charles and Mildred Schnurmacher基金会的董事会成员。Weinstein医生广泛地演讲和撰写关于管理实践、团队建设、领导、共同掌权、行销和其他可令兽医业发展得更好的相关题目。

神经科

Dr. Marco Ruggeri

DVM, MRCVS, Board Eligible ECVN

headshot of Dr. Marco Ruggeri

Bio of Dr. Ruggeri

Ruggeri医生于2001年在意大利米兰大学的兽医学院取得其动物医学学士学位。他在2006年1月于法国巴黎的迈松阿尔福兽医学校的马医院完成了他的实习期,在2007-2008年期间任职该校的研究员。Ruggeri医生是一名神经科医生,于全世界各地执业,2008-2010年任职于24hs Clinica Veterinaria Roma Sud,2010-2011任职于西班牙马德里的Resonancia Magnetica Veterinaria, Hospital Veterinario San Agustin de Guadalix,2011-2012任职于西班牙赫塔费的Neurologia Veterinaria,2012-2013年任职于西班牙马德里的Clínica Veterinaria Puerta de Hierro,2013-2015担任了英国伦敦的Medivet Hendon磁力共振成像和电脑断层扫描部门的主任,2015年在芬兰图尔库的埃博学术大学的Turku Center for Biotecnology当研究员,于2016-2019年在以色列里雄莱锡安的希伯来大学的Koret Veterinary Teaching School完成了他的欧洲大学兽医神经科实习,2019- 2020在埃塞克斯兰登的Southfields Veterinary Specialists的神经科部门出任首席医师。他现时在几所以色列和提供赛普勒斯的转介诊所提供自由工作神经科服务。Ruggeri医生会说意大利语、英语、西班牙语、法语、希伯来语和芬兰语。

肿瘤科

Dr. Gillian Dank

DVM, Diplomate ACVIM & ECVIM (Oncology)

headshot of Dr. Gillian Dank

Bio of Dr. Dank

Dank医生毕业于耶路撒冷希伯来大学的The Koret School of Veterinary Medicine。她在加利福尼亚大学戴维斯分校完成了肿瘤科住院实习。她自2003年起在Koret School of Veterinary Medicine的兽医教学医院工作,现职高级讲师。她于2005年开始担任Israel Journal of Veterinary Medicine的副编辑,亦于2007年开始担任 Journal of Veterinary Comparative Oncology的副编辑。她是American and European Colleges of Internal Medicine,Veterinary Cancer Society和 European Society of Veterinary Oncology的会员。 Dank医生每天都要治疗患癌的宠物,会通过讲座进行咨询,也会举办讲座和网上座谈会向转介兽医们介绍最先进的宠物癌症治疗方法。Dank医生获得大量拨款用以研究肿瘤及其疗法,也出版过许多关于肿瘤科的文章和论文。

Dr. Kurt Verkest

Senior Veterinary, Surgeon and Consultant in Oncology, BVSc (Hons), BVBiol , MANZCVS, PhD

Dr. Kurt Verkest

Bio of Dr. Verkest

 Verkest医生是Pets Central 兽医网络和Vets Central的共同创办人。他于1995年在昆士兰大学以优异成绩毕业。 Verkest医生在Veterinary Information Network上向世界各地的兽医提供兽医肿瘤科(癌症治疗)的意见。 Veterinary Information Network有超过30,000位兽医会员,是最大兽医资讯传播平台。医生在2001获得Australian College of Veterinary Scientists in Small Animal Medicine的会籍,并于同年获得小型动物医学部门最佳人选奖。他完成了一个为期两年的内科及放射学研究生课程。他在昆士兰大学取得肥胖狗只内分泌学的博士学位。 Verkest医生关注癌症的化学疗法、姑息治疗、血液学、内科和教学/ 与顾客交流。

眼科

Dr. Ron Ofri

DVM, PhD, DECVO

headshot of Dr. Ron Ofri

Bio of Dr. Ofri

Ofri 医生在The Koret School of Veterinary Medicine取得其动物医学学士学位,在佛罗里达大学取得博士学位,亦在该校完成了兽医眼科临床实习。在此期间,他对视觉生理学产生了兴趣,专注于视网膜疾病。他是European College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists (ECVO)認證的专科医生,是前ECVO执行董事会成员,亦曾担任European Society of Veterinary Ophthalmology的主席(2002-2005)。Ofri医生现为兽医眼科学的教授,多次获得年度最佳教师奖。在耶路撒冷希伯来大学,Ron的研究范围拓展至临床兽医眼科学(专注于青光眼和视网膜疾病)和视网膜基因疗法。他在一群天生有日盲症的绵羊身上使用视网膜基因疗法,这项突破性的研究令接受治疗的动物恢复视力已6年,更为FDA批准对人类患者进行第I及IIA期临床试验提供条件。 Ron同时是一名很受欢迎的国际级讲者,曾受邀到6大洲,超过40个国家在持续进修研讨会、国际会议和全科医生的国际代表大会上演讲,包括BSAVA,SEVC,WSAVA ,WVC和NAVC。他经常教授兽医眼科医生的进阶训练课程,包括American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists的基本科学课程(2002年开始)和其他论坛的课程。Ron发表过超过90篇同行评审论文,是Gelatt's的经典教科书Veterinary Ophthalmology(第3,4,5,6版)的丛集著者,亦是教科书Slatter's Fundamentals of Veterinary Ophthalmology(第4,5,6版)的合著者。

外科手术

Dr. Joshua Milgram

BVSc, Diplomate ECVS  

headshot of Dr. Joshua Milgram

Bio of Dr. Milgram

Milgram医生1999年开始在The Koret Veterinary Teaching Hospital的小型动物和马手术科担任临床讲师,从此展开他的教学生涯,现职资深讲师。他在2005年成为小型动物手术科的专科医生(European College of Veterinary Surgeons (ECVS)认证专科医生)。他曾任职于European College of Veterinary Surgeons的资格审查委员会(2009-2015),后来担任主席(2015-2016)。他曾是Journal of Veterinary Surgery审核委员会的成员,现为Journal of Veterinary Comparative Orthopedics and Traumatology审核委员会的成员。他是一名活跃的小型动物手术临床专家,亦发表过大量临床研究的文章。

Dr. Matan Or

DVM, PhD, Small animal Surgeon (Orthopedic & Soft Tissue)

headshot of Dr. Matan Or

Bio of Dr. Or

Or医生2006年毕业于以色列的希伯来大学的The Koret School of Veterinary Medicine。他在希伯来大学和Knowledge Farm Referral Veterinary Center完成了一个小型动物医学及手术实习,后来在Michigan State University Veterinary Teaching Hospital当小型动物研究员(2007-2012)。他在比利时根特的Ghent University Veterinary Teaching Hospital 完成了小型动物手术科的住院实习,同时亦取得肝门脉系统分流学的博士学位(2012-2016),他在该校亦取得ECVS研究资助奖金。Or医生曾是Ghent University Teaching Hospital(2016-2017)和宾夕凡尼亚大学兽医教学医院的小型动物手术科的助理教授(2017-2019)。Or医生于2019年回到以色列,开始在当地专治小型动物手术的转介个案。他的研究和临床的范围包括骨科病的病因学、评估骨折固定的生物力学特征和发展新的方法去评估和治疗骨折和关节病理学、骨创伤、发病机制、肝门脉系统分流的疗法、功能性磁振造影和电脑断层扫描对肝性脑病变的作用、狗只肝脏移植的潜力和负压伤口疗法(NPWT)用于伤口愈合。Or医生发表过很多同行评审文章和摘要,曾在ECVS的会议上和世界各地多所大学中演讲。

Dr. Anna Shipov

DVM, PhD, DEVCS

headshot of Dr. Anna Shipov

Bio of Dr. Shipov

Shipov医生自2013年成为The Koret Veterinary Teaching Hospital (KVTH) 的外科主任。Shipov医生获得大量拨款用以研究慢性肾病对犬只狗只骨骼的影响和制作出停经后骨质疏松症导致的结构变异和立体矿物质分布定位。她2012年开始指导硕士生和博士生,2004年开始指导动物医学学士论文和研究计划。Shipov医生发表过许多原创的研究文章,亦在很多国际兽医及科学研讨会中发表过演讲。Shipov医生对泌尿系统手术和软组织手术尤感兴趣。

Consulting Veterinarians

Vets Central has assembled world class U.S. and European Board Certified veterinarians and experienced practitioners in their respective fields, based in America, Hong Kong, and Israel, who are ready, willing, and able to offer their professional services 24/7 to veterinarians worldwide with the initial focus being in Greater China, Mongolia, Asia, and Eastern Europe. Here are their professional credentials, brief background, and experience, arranged by specialty. CVs will be posted when available. 

Behavior

Dr. Stefanie Schwartz

DVM, MSc, Dipl. ACVB

headshot of Dr. Stefanie Schwartz

Bio of Dr. Schwartz

Dr. Schwartz is a Board Certified Veterinary Behavior Specialist based in California who is licensed in California, New York and Massachusetts. She received both her DVM and MSc. In Ethology (study of animal behavior) from the University of Montreal and her BSc. in Psychobiology, Comparative Psychology and Neuropsychology from McGill University. Dr. Schwartz served on the Clinical Faculty at Tufts University School of Veterinary Medicine (1990-2006) and has been on the Clinical Faculty at Virginia-Maryland Regional College of veterinary medicine since 2009. Her focus is the diagnosis and treatment of pet behavior problems in dogs and cats and deals with aggression, anxiety, destructiveness, depression and house soiling. Dr. Schwartz is an author, lecturer expert witness and regular T.V. and radio guest.

Cardiology

Dr. Dan Ohad

DVM, PhD., DACVS & DECVS

headshot of Dr. Dan Ohad

Bio of Dr. Ohad

Dr. Ohad received his DVM and PhD from the Koret School of Veterinary Medicine, is a Board Certified Diplomate of both the American and European College of Veterinary Internal Medicine – Specialty of Cardiology and is a clinical specialist who has devoted most of his career to understanding, teaching and studying diagnostics and therapeutic modalities of diseased mammalian hearts. He was a resident (1996-1998) and Fellow (1998-1999) in Clinical Cardiology at the University of Pennsylvania and a Research Scientist in R&D at Eli Lily & Company (2000-2003) before becoming a Clinical Senior Lecturer in cardiology at the Veterinary Teaching Hospital of the Koret School of Veterinary Medicine in 2004. He has chaired various university committees, has been a Member of the Journal of Veterinary Cardiology Review Board since 2010 and also reviewed numerous scientific manuscripts and abstracts for other professional journals. He has also published numerous articles and chapters in textbooks, peer review journals and been a lecturer at numerous International Scientific Conferences. Dr. Ohad is the recipient of numerous professional and Teaching Awards and Grants.

Dentistry

Dr. Yoav Bar-Am

DVM, DAVDC, DEVDC

headshot of Dr. Yoav Bar-Am

Bio of Dr. Bar-Am

Dr. Yoav Bar-Am is a native of Israel. Dr. Bar-Am is a graduate of the veterinary medicine faculty at the University of Torino in Italy. After graduation, he returned to Israel and practiced veterinary medicine for 11 years at a small animal hospital in Haifa. He also served as the chief veterinarian of the town’s animal shelter. Dr. Bar-Am pursued his postgraduate training at the Koret School of Veterinary Medicine of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in Israel. He completed a small animal surgery residency program approved by the European College of Veterinary Surgeons. Following his residency, Dr. Bar-Am stayed on as a staff surgeon and initiated the small animal dentistry and oral surgery section. He completed 3 years of conforming residency in Dentistry and Oral Surgery in the University of California at Davis and stayed an additional year as a clinical instructor. He then accepted the position of assistant professor of Dentistry and Oral Surgery in Colorado State University, where he initiated and developed the clinical and academic program in dentistry and oral surgery at the Veterinary Teaching Hospital and the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences. After his return to Israel he resumed his position as head of the dentistry and oral surgery at the Koret veterinary teaching hospital .Dr. Bar-Am’s mission is to promote veterinary dentistry and oral surgery through teaching veterinary students  and by collaboration with the general and referring practitioners.

Equestrian

Dr. Charles Liskey

DVM

headshot of Dr. Charlie Liskey

Bio of Dr. Liskey

Dr. Liskey received his undergraduate degree and DVM from the University of California Davis. He did his Large Animal Surgical Internship at the University of Saskatchewan, Canada and his Equine Surgery Residency at the University of California, Davis. He has been an equine surgeon in California since 1986 and has since been a full-time clinical practitioner in all aspects of equine health care. He is also an equine consultant in Mongolia.

Dr. David W. Ramey

DVM

headshot of Dr. David Ramey

Bio of Dr. Ramey

Dr. Ramey received his DVM from Colorado State University in 1983, was an Equine Medicine and Surgery intern at Iowa State University, and has since been a full-time clinical practitioner in all aspects of equine health care with approximately 60% devoted to show and performance horses (hunters, FEI-level jumpers, barrel horses, endurance horses, FEI-level dressage horses and saddle seat horses. He has published 13 books on various aspects of equine health, five book chapters, published more than 70 papers in professional journals and is a reviewer for professional journals, including Equine Veterinary Journal, Journal of Equine Veterinary Science and Australian Veterinary Journal. Dr. Ramey has spoken and lectured on equine topics at universities, conventions and continuing education seminars across the U.S., Canada and UK.

Internal Medicine

Dr. Ran Nivy

DVM, Diplomate ECVIM (Internal medicine)

headshot of Dr. Ran Nivy

Bio of Dr. Nivy

Dr. Nivy is a graduate of the Koret School of Veterinary medicine, The Hebrew University, Jerusalem. He is an instructor at the university and an online consultant to private veterinary practices for respiratory diseases, bleeding and pro-thrombotic disorders and electrolyte imbalances for respiratory diseases, immunodeficiency and immune-disorders and antibacterial and steroid use in small animals. He is the recipient of numerous prizes and awards and is the author of numerous articles in veterinary publications.

Dr. Gilad Segev

DVM, Diplomate ECVIM (Internal Medicine)

headshot of Dr. Gilad Segev

Bio of Dr. Segev

Dr. Segev is an Associate Professor of Veterinary Medicine and Department Head, Small Animal Internal Medicine, Koret School of Veterinary Medicine and Head of the Dialysis Service and Board member of the International Renal Internet Society. He did his fellowship in Nephrology and Hemodialysis at the School of Veterinary Medicine, University of California Davis (2005-2007).

Dr. David Coyle

BVSc (Hons) MACVSc (Small Animal Medicine)

headshot of Dr. David Coyle

Bio of Dr. Coyle

Dr. Coyle is the Head of the Pets Central Internal Medicine Department overseeing almost exclusively referral and second opinion work dealing with seriously or chronically ill cats and dogs. He is a graduate of The University of Queensland, Australia and a member of the Australian College of veterinary Scientists in the field of Cat and Dog Medicine. He performs over 500 abdominal and 200 heart ultrasounds each year, and routinely performs minimally invasive ultrasound diagnostic procedures, saving hundreds of pets each year from diagnostic surgical procedures. He has lectured for more than 15 years on internal medicine topics in Hong Kong and China, and mentored undergraduate and post graduate students.

Management & Marketing

Dr. Peter Weinstein

DVM, MBA

headshot of Dr. Peter Weinstein

Bio of Dr. Weinstein

Dr. Weinstein is the Executive Director for the Southern California Veterinary Medical Association. He attended Cornell University undergraduate and the University of Illinois to receive his DVM.  While practicing he identified the need for business acumen to make his practice successful and attended the University of Redlands where he received his MBA. Dr. Weinstein has served as President of the Southern California Veterinary Medical Association and the California Veterinary Medical Association and is a Past-President for VetPartners, the national consultants association. Additionally, he acted as Medical Director overseeing the Claims Department for Veterinary Pet Insurance. Dr. Weinstein has provided small business and corporate consulting via his company, PAW Consulting. He is on the Board of the Charles and Mildred Schnurmacher Foundation. Dr. Weinstein has spoken and written extensively on practice management, team building, leadership, collegiality, marketing, and other topics focused on making the veterinary profession better for all those affiliated with it.

Neurology

Dr. Marco Ruggeri

DVM, MRCVS, Board Eligible ECVN

headshot of Dr. Marco Ruggeri

Bio of Dr. Ruggeri

Dr. Ruggeri received his DVM in 2001 from the Universitá degli Studi di Milano, Facoltá di Medicina Veterinaria- Italy. Dr. Ruggeri completed his internship at the Hospital of Equine animal. Ecole Veterinarie de Maison Alfort, Paris, France in January 2006, where he was also a research fellow in 2007-2008. Dr. Ruggeri is a neurologist who has practiced worldwide as a clinician at “24hs Clinica Veterinaria Roma Sud” in 2008-2010, “Resonancia Magnetica Veterinaria, Hospital Veterinario San Agustin de Guadalix,” Madrid- Spain in 2010-2011, “Neurologia Veterinaria,” Getafe- Spain in 2011-2012, “Clínica Veterinaria Puerta de Hierro,” Madrid, Spain in 2012-2013 and in 2013-2015 headed MRI and CT services at “Medivet Hendon,” London, United Kingdom, was a Research Fellow at the “Turku Center for Biotecnology,” Abo Akademy University, Turku, Finland in 2015 and completed his residency ECVN at the “Koret Veterinary Teaching School,” the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Rishon LeZion, Israel in 2016-2019; and was the head clinician at the Neurology Department at Southfields Veterinary Specialists, Laindon, Essex in 2019-2020. He now offers freelance neurological services at several referral clinics in Israel and Cyprus. Dr. Ruggeri speaks Italian, English, Spanish, French, Hebrew, and Finnish.

Oncology

Dr. Gillian Dank

DVM, Diplomate ACVIM & ECVIM (Oncology)

headshot of Dr. Gillian Dank

Bio of Dr. Dank

Dr. Dank is a graduate of the Koret School of veterinary medicine, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She did her residency at the University of California, Davis. She has been a Clinical Instructor and Lecturer at the Veterinary Teaching Hospital, Koret School of Veterinary medicine since 2003. She has been the Associate Editor of the Israel Journal of Veterinary Medicine since 2005 and the Associate Editor of Journal of Veterinary Comparative Oncology since 2007. She is a member of the American and European Colleges of Internal Medicine, Veterinary Cancer Society, European Society of Veterinary Oncology and American Society of Clinical Oncology. Dr. Dank is the recipient of numerous grants to study tumors and their treatment and has published numerous articles and papers on oncology.

Dr. Kurt Verkest

Senior Veterinary, Surgeon and Consultant in Oncology, BVSc (Hons), BVBiol , MANZCVS, PhD

Dr. Kurt Verkest

Bio of Dr. Verkest

 Dr. Verkest is a co-founder of the Pets Central veterinary network and Vets Central. He graduated with honors from the University of Queensland in 1995. He consults full-time on cancer cases and provides both medical and surgical oncology service. Dr. Verkest provides advice on Veterinary Oncology (cancer medicine) to veterinarians around the world through the Veterinary Information Network. The Veterinary Information Network has over 50,000 veterinarians as members, and is the largest disseminator of veterinary information. He attained Membership of the Australian College of Veterinary Scientists in Small Animal Medicine in 2001 and was awarded the Small Animal Medicine Chapter Award for the best candidate that year. He has completed two year-long postgraduate courses in internal medicine and radiology. He was awarded a PhD in the endocrinology of obesity in dogs by The University of Queensland. Kurt’s interests included cancer chemotherapy, oncologic surgery, immunotherapy, clinical cytology, palliative care, haematology, internal medicine and teaching / client communication.

Ophthalmology

Dr. Ron Ofri

DVM, PhD, DECVO

headshot of Dr. Ron Ofri

Bio of Dr. Ofri

Dr. Ofri received his DVM from the Koret School of Veterinary Medicine, his PhD from the University of Florida where he underwent his clinical training in veterinary ophthalmology. During this period he developed an interest in the physiology of vision, focusing on retinal diseases. Dr Ofri is a Diplomate of the European College of Veterinary Ophthalmology (ECVO), a former ECVO Executive Board member and Scientific Committee member and served as President of the European Society of Veterinary Ophthalmology (2002-2005). Dr Ofri is currently a Professor in veterinary ophthalmology and winner of numerous Teacher of the Year awards. At the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Ron expanded his research interests to include clinical veterinary ophthalmology (focusing on glaucoma and retinal diseases) and retinal gene therapy. His groundbreaking work on retinal gene therapy on a herd of sheep with naturally occurring day blindness has resulted in restoration of vision in treated animals for 6 years, and has paved the way to FDA approval of Phase I/IIa clinical trials in humans patients. Ron is also a very popular international speaker, having been invited to talk in more than 40 countries and 6 continents, lecturing in continuing education seminars, national meetings and world congresses for general practitioners, including BSAVA, SEVC, WSAVA, WVC and NAVC. He also lectures frequently in advanced training courses for veterinary ophthalmologists, including lectureship at the Basic Science Course of the American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists (where he has been speaking since 2002) and numerous other forums. Ron has published more than 90 peer-reviewed papers, is a contributing author to the Gelatt’s classic textbook Veterinary Ophthalmology (3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th editions) as well as a co-author of the popular textbook Slatter’s Fundamentals of Veterinary Ophthalmology (4th, 5th and 6th editions).

Surgery

Dr. Joshua Milgram

BVSc, Diplomate ECVS  

headshot of Dr. Joshua Milgram

Bio of Dr. Milgram

Dr. Milgram started his teaching career as a Clinical Instructor at the Koret Veterinary Teaching Hospital, Small Animal & Equine Surgery in 1999 and currently holds the rank of Senior Lecturer. He became a specialist in small animal surgery (Diplomate of the European College of Veterinary Surgeons (ECVS) in 2005. He has served on the Credentials Committee, European College of Veterinary Surgeons (2009-2015), and became its Chair (2015-2016). He has served as a member of the Review Board of the Journal of Veterinary Surgery and is currently on the review Board of the Journal of Veterinary Comparative Orthopedics and Traumatology. He is active both clinically as a specialist small animal surgeon and in clinical research where he has published numerous articles.

Dr. Matan Or

DVM, PhD, Small animal Surgeon (Orthopedic & Soft Tissue)

headshot of Dr. Matan Or

Bio of Dr. Or

Dr. Or graduated from the Hebrew University Koret School of Veterinary Medicine in Israel in 2006. He did a Small Animal Medicine and Surgery internship at the Hebrew University and worked at Knowledge Farm Referral Veterinary Center, followed by a Small Animal Surgical Fellowship at Michigan State University Veterinary Teaching Hospital (2007-2012). Dr. Or did his Residency in Small Animal Surgery combined with a PhD on Portosystemic shunts at Ghent University Veterinary Teaching Hospital in Belgium (2012-2016) where he also won the ECVS research grant award.

Dr. Or was an Assistant Professor in Small Animal Surgery at Ghent University Teaching Hospital (2016-2017) and an Assistant Professor in Small Animal Surgery at the University of Pennsylvania Veterinary Teaching Hospital (2017-2019). In 2019 Dr. Or returned to Israel and since has been consulting and practicing small animal surgery for referral practices in Israel.

His research and clinical interests are in etiology of orthopedic disease, the evaluation of biomechanical properties of fracture stabilization and developing new methods for evaluation and treatment of fractures and joint pathology, orthopedic trauma, pathogenesis and treatment of portosystemic shunts, hepatoencephalopathy using functional MRI/CT, potential liver transplantation in dogs, and wound treatment with negative pressure wound therapy (NPWT).

Dr. Or has published numerous peer reviewed publications and abstracts; Spoke at ECVS meetings and several Universities around the world.

Dr. Anna Shipov

DVM, PhD, DEVCS

headshot of Dr. Anna Shipov

Bio of Dr. Shipov

Dr. Shipov is a head of surgical department at the Koret Veterinary Teaching Hospital (KVTH) since 2013. Dr. Shipov is the recipient of numerous grants to study the effect of chronic kidney disease on the skeleton of dogs and mapping the 3-dimentional mineral distribution and structural variation occurring in post-menopausal osteoporosis. She has been supervising Master and Doctoral students since 2012 and DVM thesis and research projects since 2004. Dr. Shipov has published numerous original research papers and has been a speaker at numerous International Veterinary & Scientific Research Conferences. Dr. Shipov has a special interest in urinary system surgery and soft tissue surgery.