董事会

Vet_Board_HS_Kurt

主席

Dr. Kurt Verkest
高级兽医,外科医生和肿瘤学顾问 肿瘤科
兽医学学士(荣誉),博士,澳大利亚兽医科学家学院会员
汪卓杰医生是Pets Cenreal兽医信息网和Vets Central的共同创办人,他在1995年于昆士兰大学荣誉毕业,他也通过兽医信息网为世界各地的兽医提供兽用肿瘤(癌症药物)的建议,兽医信息网现有超过5万名兽医会员,是最大的兽医信息媒介。汪医生在2001年荣获澳大利亚兽医科学家学院(小动物科)会员资格,同年获得为最佳会员而设的小动物内外科阶段奖状;他随后也完成了两年的放射科与内科研究生课程,也在昆士兰大学获得肥胖犬只内分泌学博士学位。

汪医生的兴趣包括癌症化疗、姑息治疗、血液学、内科和教学/与客户沟通。

Vet_Board_HS_Peter_Vogel

副主席

Dr. Peter Vogel
VMD, DACVS (Surgery)

Peter Vogel拥有动物医学学士学位和DACVS,1990年于宾夕凡尼亚大学兽医学院毕业。他在California Animal Hospital完成了小型动物外科手术实习,在加利福尼亚大学戴维斯分校完成了小型动物外科手术住院实习。Vogel医生是The Southern California Veterinary Specialty Hospital的创办及资深合伙人,是一所位于加州欧文的多元化转介医院。 Vogel 医生后来担任加州橙县芳泉谷的VCA West Coast Specialty and Emergency Animal Hospital的共同医疗主任。 Vogel医生是加州安纳海姆的The Animal Orthopedic Center的创办人。他是Southern California Veterinary Medical Association的前任主席,现为California Veterinary Medical Association的董事,代表洛杉矶和加州橙县。他亦是Dan Mahan Award 兽医医学卓越奖的得主。Vogel医生是一名受认证的兽医,是American College of Veterinary Surgeons认证的专家,有近30年临床实践、教导兽医学生和培训实习及住院实习的经验。Vogel医生在经常在南加州和美国其他地区授课,更曾在中国、南韩和墨西哥的世界兽医会议上发表演说。

Vet_Board_HS_Baneth

Gad Baneth医生
兽医学士,博士,欧洲兽医临床病理学院学位
Baneth医生在1990年毕业于以色列希伯来大学Koret兽医学院。1994年,他在在希伯来大学完成了小动物科实习和住院实习,并得到了奖学金,在1994至1995年,在北卡罗来纳大学做兽医学院内科及传染病的研究。在2000年,他在希伯来大学取得兽医寄生虫科的博士学位。Baneth教授曾任希伯来大学小动物内科的系主任,有欧洲兽医临床病理学院的学位,也是欧洲兽医寄生虫学学院的准会员;他自2006年起也担任Veterinary Parasitology期刊的编辑顾问委员会成员。另外,他也是世界小动物兽医协会的科学顾问委员会主席、规范犬利什曼原虫病诊断、治疗和预防的LeishVet小组的副主席,和以色列寄生虫学、原生动物学和热带病学会的顾问委员会成员。

他的研究兴趣专注在人畜共同虫媒传染病的发病机制、诊断和治疗,包括利什曼原虫病、复发热牛热病、犬埃里希体病、巴贝斯虫病、肝人畜共患症、锥虫病和地罗非鞭毛虫病;Baneth教授也有研究地中海盆地、乌兹别克斯坦、埃塞俄比亚、南欧和南部的人畜共同病和兽医疾病;他著有超过200篇科学出版和书藉章节;他亦曾任欧洲食品安全局在利什曼原虫病的顾问;他现在是以色列希伯来大学Koret兽医学院的主任。

陈鹏峰医生
DVM
陈医生来自上海,是前任中国兽医学会和中国兽医学会兽医药科分会的理事和高级人员、世界小型动物兽医协会的中国代表,和现任中国兽医协会的执行董事、亚洲小动物兽医师大会的中国代表。他也是中小学动物科临床诊断和治疗的起源者和先锋,在过去超过三十年一直见证着中国的小动物科临床诊断,由听诊器和两个温度计,发展到现今的B型超声、放射诊断技术和核磁共振技术。

现今,他正在华中农业大学任教,并致力发展中国的宠物医护及医药学。

Vet_Board_HS_Shimon

Shimon Harrus医生
兽医学士,博士
Harrus医生在希伯来大学曾任多个重要职位,包括兽医学正教授(2014年至今)、Koret兽医学院主任(2007-2015)、兽医教学医院理事会成员(2007-2015)、中央学生接待委员会会员(2007-2011)、Koret兽医学院课程委员会会员(2007年至今)、动物设施管理局/生物和生物医学模型管理局理事会成员(2008-2015),和Koret兽医学院发展与学术规划委员会主席(2015年至今)。在校外,他也曾是Israel Journal of Veterinary Medicine的副主编、土耳其乌诺达格大学兽医学院期刊的咨询委员会成员(2003-2012)、Veterinary Clinical Pathology期刊编委会成员(2004-2008),和Israel Journal of Veterinary Medicine的编委会成员(2004-2008)。另外,他曾任多个国际专业委员会的成员,包括负责提名和甄选在兽医学上的杰出贡献者的PennVet世界动物健康领导奖国际甄选委员会(2008-2012)、欧洲兽医教育机构协会执行委员会(EAEVE, 2012-2015)、European Network for Neglected vectors and Vector-Borne infections COST(欧洲被忽视病媒和病媒传染病网络COST)管理委员会成员(2013-2017)、希腊塞萨洛尼基亚里士多德大学兽医学院推广委员会的外部成员(2015年至今),和斯洛文尼亚科研署国家研究补助金的审核人(2016-2017)。

他曾为专业兽医书籍写过多个章节,也发表过超过120篇同行评审的研究论文。Harrus医生和Gad Baneth医生是埃立克体病减毒疫苗的共同专利拥有人和发明者,美国专利登记号为PCM B/00023,欧洲专利申请号为08789876.3,以色列专利申请号为204404。

0001_Pauline & Belle_crop

戴宝莲医生
DVM&S MACVSc
(小动物科)
戴医生是Pets Central香港兽医医院联网的其中一位创办人和集团常务董事,也是Vets Central的创办人之一。她有超过35年从事动物工作的经验,接触的动物来自英国、新西兰和香港。她在1978年从爱丁堡大学毕业后,在苏格兰开始执业及照顾农场动物,包括马匹,及后她移居新西兰。在1985年,她在新西兰设立了自己的兽医诊所,服务范围广泛至农场及宠物品种。在新西兰期间,她被政府任命为汤加里罗国家公园保育委员会的成员,该公园是世界遗产中心;在1994年,她入读澳大利亚兽医学院继续进修小动物医学,并在1995年移居香港,更深入地进修兽医皮肤科。戴医生在私营医疗院所工作了4年后,被邀请进香港防止虐待动物协会贡献所学,该协会是亚洲领先的动物福利组织。在任期间,她设立了新的福利部门,并重点引进了新的动物福利计划,包括「不杀生」行动,以捕捉、绝育、放回野猫群和动物数量控制为本。在2000至2004年,她出任了香港政府的动物福利咨询小组成员,和政府的教育小组委员会主席,她在2000至2005年也担任了香港大学动物伦理委员会的成员。戴医生为地区里很多动物事业的游说工作担任英语发言人,贡献良多。2003年9月举办的香港第二届亚洲动物大会,也是由她全面负责。

2003年香港爆发沙士期间,擢升为执行董事的戴医生带领着130个职员,包括17名兽医,在香港7间地区设施提供兽医服务、宠物用品零售、美容和训狗业务。戴医生曾任南华早报的兽医专栏作家(2000-2004),并有恒常参与香港电台聊天节目(1995-2005),她现在也是香港本地宠物杂志的恒常专栏作家;戴医生也曾在多个英国电视节目上露面,包括《Vets in Hong Kong》(2002)、《The Battersea Dogs Home》(2001)和《Busman's Holiday》(1984);她亦从香港科技大学取得了高级管理文凭。

Vet_Board_HS_Weinstein

Peter Weinstein医生
兽医学士,工商管理硕士
Weinstein医生是南加州兽医协会的执行董事,他在康奈尔大学修读本科,并在伊利诺伊大学取得其兽医学士。在实习期间,他发现他需要更多的商业头脑去帮助他成功执业,于是他便进攻雷德兰兹大学,在当中取得工商管理硕士。Weinstein医生曾任南加州兽医协会和加州兽医协会的会长,也是全国顾问协会VetPartners的前会长。此外,他也曾出任负责监督兽医宠物保险理赔部的医疗主任。Weinstein医生会在他的公司PAW Consulting为人提供小企业与企业咨询;他现在也是Charles and Mildred Schumacher基金会的理事之一。

Weinstein医生曾广泛地讲解和写作有关医政管理、团队建设、领导、学院、市场营销,和其他专注于改进兽医专业的有关主题。

Vets Central Board of Directors

Vet_Board_HS_Kurt

Chairman

Dr. Kurt Verkest
Senior Veterinary, Surgeon and Consultant in Oncology
BVSc (Hons) MACVSc BVBiol
Dr. Verkest is a co-founder of the Pets Central veterinary network and Vets Central. He graduated with honors from the University of Queensland in 1995. Dr. Verkest provides advice on Veterinary Oncology (cancer medicine) to veterinarians around the world through the Veterinary Information Network. The Veterinary Information Network has over 50,000 veterinarians as members, and is the largest disseminator of veterinary information. Kurt attained Membership of the Australian College of Veterinary Scientists in Small Animal Medicine in 2001 and was awarded the Small Animal Medicine Chapter Award for the best candidate that year. He has completed two year-long postgraduate courses in internal medicine and radiology. He was awarded a PhD in the endocrinology of obesity in dogs by The University of Queensland.

Kurt’s interests included cancer chemotherapy, palliative care, haematology, internal medicine and teaching/client communication.

Vet_Board_HS_Peter_Vogel

Vice Chairman

Dr. Peter Vogel
VMD, DACVS (Surgery)
Dr. Vogel is the Medical Director of the VCA West Coast Specialty and Emergency Animal Hospital in Fountain Valley, Orange County, California. He attended Cornell University before moving on to the University of Pennsylvania where he received his DVM and completed his residency at the University of California, Davis. He chose to be a veterinary surgeon because he finds the ability to resolve complex problems to be extremely satisfying, particularly in orthopedics. He enjoys the challenge and has an innate ability to visualize solutions. Dr. Vogel enjoys practicing collaborative medicine in a multi-disciplinary environment.

Outside of practicing veterinary medicine, he enjoys traveling, diving, sailing, reading, and bowling!

Vet_Board_HS_Baneth

Dr. Gad Baneth
DVM, PhD, ECVCP
Dr. Baneth graduated from the Hebrew University Koret School of Veterinary Medicine in Israel in 1990. He did a Small Animal internship and residency at the Hebrew University until 1994 followed by a fellowship in Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases Research at the College of Veterinary Medicine, North Carolina State University during 1994 and 1995. He received a PhD in veterinary parasitology from the Hebrew University in 2000. Prof. Baneth served as the head of the Small Animal Internal Medicine Department at the Hebrew University Veterinary Teaching Hospital. He is a diplomate of the European College of Veterinary Clinical Pathology (ECVCP), an associate member of the European Veterinary Parasitology College (EVPC) and an editorial advisory board member for the Journal Veterinary Parasitology since 2006. He is the chairman of the World Small Animal Veterinary Association (WSAVA) Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC), the vice president of the LeishVet group for standardization of the diagnosis, treatment and prevention of canine leishmanioasis and a member of Board of Directors, Israel Society for Parasitology, Protozoology and Tropical Diseases.

His research interests focus on the pathogenesis, diagnosis and treatment of veterinary and zoonotic vector-borne infectious diseases including leishmaniosis, relapsing fever borreliosis, canine ehrlichiosis, babesiosis, hepatozoonosis, trypanosomiasis and dirofilariasis.  Prof. Baneth is involved in the study of zoonotic and veterinary diseases in the Mediterranean Basin, Uzbekistan, Ethiopia, Southern Europe and South. He is the author of more than 200 scientific publications and book chapters. Prof. Baneth served as an advisor to the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) on leishmaniosis. He is currently the director of the Koret School of Veterinary Medicine at the Hebrew University in Israel.

Dr. Geoffrey Chen
DVM
Based in Shanghai, Dr. Chen is a former director and officer of the China Veterinary Association, China Veterinary Association Branch of Pet Medicine, Shanghai Small Animal Veterinary Association, China representative to the World Small Animal Veterinary Association and current executive director of the Chinese Veterinary Medical Association and China representative of the Asian Federation of Small Animal Veterinary Associations. He is a founder and pioneer of clinical diagnosis and treatment for small animal in China. Dr. Chen has experienced the development of Chinese veterinary clinical diagnosis for small animal from a stethoscope and two thermometers to B-ultrasound, DR and nuclear magnetic high-precision diagnosis for more than 30 years.

Today, he lectures at the Huazhong Agricultural University and is devoted to the development of pet medical care and medicine in China.

Vet_Board_HS_Shimon

Dr. Shimon Harrus
DVM, PhD
Dr. Harrus studied veterinary medicine at the Faculty of Veterinary Science, University of Pretoria and Koret School of Veterinary Medicine, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel where he received his DVM. He received his PhD from Utrecht University, Faculty of Veterinary medicine, The Netherlands. Over the years Dr. Harrus has held many important positions at The Hebrew University, including full Professor of Veterinary Medicine (2014-present), Director, Koret School of Veterinary Medicine (2007-2015), Member of the Board of Directors of the Veterinary Teaching Hospital (2007-2015), Member of the Central Reception Committee for Students (2007-2011) ,Member of the Curriculum Committee, Koret School of Veterinary Medicine (2007-Present), Member of the Board of Directors of The Authority for Animal Facilities/The Authority for Biological and Biomedical Models (2008-2015), and is the Chair of the Committee for Development and Academic Planning for the Koret School of Veterinary Medicine (2015-Present). He was the Associate Editor of the Israel Journal of Veterinary Medicine (1994-2004), Member of the Advisory Board of the Uludag University Journal of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (2003-2012), Member of the Editorial Board of the Veterinary Clinical Pathology Journal (2004-2008), and Member of the Editorial Board of the Israel Journal of Veterinary Medicine (2004-2008). Dr. Harrus has also been a member of international professional committees including the International Selection Committee of PennVet World Award for Leadership in Animal Health nominating and selecting distinguished contributors to the veterinary medicine profession (2008-2012), Member of the Executive Committee of the European Association of Establishments for Veterinary Education (EAEVE; 2012-2015), has since 2013 to 2017 been a Member of the Management Committee, European Cooperation in Science and Technology (COST), European Network for Neglected vectors and Vector-Borne infections (EURNEGVEC), is an External Member of the Promotion Committee of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki, Greece (2015-present), and a Reviewer in 2016and 2017, of national research grants for the Slovenian Research Agency (ARRS).

He has written a dozen chapters in professional veterinary books and published more than 120 Peer Reviewed research papers. Dr. Harrus & Dr. Gad Baneth are also the patent owners and inventors of the Attenuated Ehrlichiosis Vaccine. Approved US Patent, Accession number PCM B/00023; European Patent Application 08789876.3; Israeli Patent Application 204404.

0001_Pauline & Belle_crop

Dr. Pauline A. Taylor
BVM&S MACVSc
(Small Animal Medicine)
Dr. Taylor is the co-founder and Group Managing Director of the Pets Central network of veterinary hospitals in Hong Kong and co-founder of Vets Central. She has more than 35 years of experience working with animals in the United Kingdom, New Zealand and Hong Kong. After graduating from Edinburgh University in 1978, Dr. Taylor practiced in Scotland, initially working with farm animals, including horses, before moving to New Zealand in 1985 where she set up her own clinic that served a wide range of farm and pet species. During her time in New Zealand, Dr. Taylor was a Government appointed member of the conservation board for the Tongariro Taupo National Park, a World Heritage Centre. After furthering her studies in small animal medicine and being admitted to the Australian College of Veterinary Scientists in 1994, Dr. Taylor moved to Hong Kong in 1995, advanced her studies in veterinary dermatology and then, after four years in private practice, was invited to contribute her experience to the SPCA (HK), the leading animal welfare organization in Asia. During her tenure there, Dr. Taylor set up their new Welfare Department and was instrumental in introducing new animal welfare initiatives, including the “No Kill’ movement, a feral cat colony TNR/ABC program.  A member of the Animal Welfare Advisory Group to the Hong Kong Government from 2000-2004 and Chairperson of their Education Subcommittee, and the University of Hong Kong’s Animal Ethics Committee from 2000-2005, Dr. Taylor has contributed to, and been English spokeswoman for many lobbying initiatives for animal causes in the region. She had overall responsibility for the Second Asia for Animals Conference in Hong Kong in September 2003.

Promoted to Executive Director of the SPCA in 2003 during the SARS outbreak, Dr. Taylor led a staff of 130, including 17 veterinarians, in 7 facilities throughout Hong Kong supplying veterinary services and retail pet products, grooming and dog training operations. Dr. Taylor was a veterinary columnist for the South China Morning Post (2000-2004), a regular participant on RTHK Radio morning chat shows (1995-2005) and is a regular columnist in local Hong Kong pet magazines. Dr. Taylor has appeared on a number of British TV shows including Vets in Hong Kong (2002), The Battersea Dogs Home (2001) and Busman’s Holiday (1984). Dr. Taylor has an Executive Diploma in Management from Hong Kong University of Science & Technology.

Vet_Board_HS_Weinstein

Dr. Peter Weinstein
DVM, MBA
Dr. Weinstein is the Executive Director for the Southern California Veterinary Medical Association. He attended Cornell University undergraduate and the University of Illinois to receive his DVM.  While practicing he identified the need for business acumen to make his practice successful and attended the University of Redlands where he received his MBA. Dr. Weinstein has served as President of the Southern California Veterinary Medical Association and the California Veterinary Medical Association and is a Past-President for VetPartners, the national consultants association. Additionally, he acted as Medical Director overseeing the Claims Department for Veterinary Pet Insurance. Dr. Weinstein has provided small business and corporate consulting via his company, PAW Consulting. He is on the Board of the Charles and Mildred Schnurmacher Foundation.

Dr. Weinstein has spoken and written extensively on practice management, team building, leadership, collegiality, marketing, and other topics focused on making the veterinary profession better for all those affiliated with it.